Once, Twice, and Thrice

Standard

I finished this one quite recently. Well, I sort of got into it because of the poetry reading event held in our school. It was a way for poetry and literature in general to be democratized (in a very good way, I might add).

Inspiration? Hahaha! I think it’s pretty clear how this poem got started. As to who this muse is, I’d rather not say. He/She/It might not even know about this.

***********

I like you

Even before we met,

Even before we were introduced.

Cliche #1 – You are the man of my dreams

the epitome of an idea that sprung to life.

Cliche #2 – You stuck out like a sore thumb

in a sea of faceless strangers.

Once, You saw me sitting alone

You kept me company.

Until, we each had to go

for some reason.

I do not remember anymore.

Twice, we sat alone together

Same time

Same place

Unplanned

Unannounced

Sipping our teas and started

Talking – a series of reveries and revelries that got us

bearing our souls which were torn by

the same glass cannons

we have fostered home.

A light breeze ignited my slowly ebbing heart

and just for a nanosecond

I thought maybe – just maybe

the idea of you and I

Us

is in the realm of possibility.

We both wear our hearts on our sleeves.

Although, I hide mine

better than you do – or so I think.

Remember we talked about destiny?

How our decisions and circumstances have led us to this:

Now

Now, I definitely know there is a Higher Power

for how can I not believe in Him

and witness this miracle

of the eventuality of us

But

Oblivious

Oh, that you are.

Fun Fact: did you know

we’ve already been introduced thrice?

Cliche #3 – Three time’s a charm!

It’s alright.

I’ve already come to terms with the brutal truth that

You will never fancy me.

 

Leave a Reply

